Skip To Main Content

Absence Intervention Contacts

Absence Intervention Contacts

Please review the contacts/resources below if you need assistance with your student's attendance. 

District Social Worker

Dagoberto Espinoza


Dagoberto Espinoza

despinoza@smuhsd.org
Office: 650-558-2290
Cell: 650-865-4381 

Contact the District Social Worker if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Samtrans bus passes to support transportation to/from school  

  • Case management services to facilitate access and linkage to community resources, e.g. food banks, childcare needs, housing resources, external mental health referrals

  • Engagement with a student in the home environment to encourage and support school attendance 

  • Parent/caregiver psycho-social support through groups/classes, e.g.  Parent Connect 

  • Student support through individual sessions and groups


 
Assistant Principals

Sarah Prensky-Pomeranz headshot


Sarah Prensky-Pomeranz
sprenskypomeranz@smuhsd.org

Ashley Milton headshot

Ashley Milton 
amilton@smuhsd.org

Jesse Boise headshot

Jesse Boise
jboise@smuhsd.org

Contact any Assistant Principal if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Concerns about the attendance letter and notification you received

  • Concerns about the safety or well-being of your child 

  • Issues around consequences due to absences and truancy

  • If you are experiencing homelessness, please contact Sarah Prensky-Pomeranz.


Family Engagement Coordinator

Image of smiling staff member Lettie Cottrell

Leticia Cottrell
650-558-2677
lcottrell@smuhsd.org

Contact the Family Engagement Coordinator if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Learning about opportunities for engagement (meetings, workshops, school events)

  • Connecting with school personnel (Advocacy)

  • Understanding our school system (schedules, calendar, Parent Canvas accounts)

  • School and Community Resources


School Attendance Technician

Dawnette Tello-Loezius (Speaks Spanish)
dtelloloezius@smuhsd.org
650-558-2708

Contact the Attendance Technician if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Reporting an absence 

  • Obtain pass for students who are leaving school early

  • Inaccurate data related to attendance 



Mental Health and Wellness Counselors


Seth Wright headshot

Seth Wright 
sewright@smuhsd.org
650-558-2629

SAMIKO (Sami) SHIROMA

Samiko Shiroma (speaks Spanish)
sshiroma@smuhsd.org
650-558-2662

Profile photo of Cassandra Lopez

Cassandra Lopez
calopez@smuhsd.org
650-558-2676


Contact a Wellness Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Mental health concerns related to attendance 

  • Mental health referrals to Care Solace or other community resources


 

School Counselors

Marissa Reyes headshot

Marissa Reyes
650-558-2610
mreyes@smuhsd.org

Rienzo, Jenny / Rienzo, Jenny

Jenny Rienzo
650-558-2611
jrienzo@smuhsd.org

Kelly, Janice / Welcome

Janice Kelly 
650-558-2612
jkelly@smuhsd.org

Canda, Ed / Canda, Ed

Ed Canda
Works with English Learners
650-558-2614
ecanda@smuhsd.org

Contact a School Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Concerns about missing days and assignments

  • Connecting students with their teachers on missing assignments due to absences

  • Academic supports including 504 plans, health issues impacting students’ education, after-school tutoring and supports


 

Health Aide

Paola Trujillo headshot

Paola Trujillo
ptrujillo@smuhsd.org

Contact the Health Aide if you/your child need help with the following: