Skip To Main Content

Hillsdale Procedures

Hillsdale Attendance Process

Hillsdale High School uses a Google form for reporting student absences in order to better support students, families and staff. With the form we will have a written record of the absence excuse (with phone calls there is no permanent record so, if there is a question, it is difficult to produce historical evidence).

Note: Sending an email to remains an option for sending messages

regarding a student’s attendance.

Here are the forms: Hillsdale Absence Reporting Protocol - English & Espanol

  • All absence forms must be submitted within 48 hours of a student’s return to school. 

  • After 48 hours the undocumented absence is recorded as unexcused and will become a truancy. 

  • Only a parent or legal guardian listed on the student's emergency card can  clear absences. 

  • Excused absences in California: illness, medical appointment, religious holiday, family  emergency, jury duty or funeral services. 

  • Not excused absences: Some absences are “not excused” in California, as defined by state law: being out of town, vacation, college visits, and  non-school related activities. 

  • A “not excused” absence is not the same as an “unexcused absence” because the absence has been verified by a parent/guardian

  • Hillsdale will not take action on a “not excused” absence unless it is too frequent and causes  problems. There are no consequences for “not excused absences”.

  • Unexcused absences are illegal and Hillsdale will take action with the student and the  family as an “unexcused absence” is to be recorded as an act of truancy. 


  • LEAVING SCHOOL BEFORE THE END OF THE SCHOOL DAY: Students may not leave campus without permission. Parents cannot excuse an absence after a student  leaves. Students MUST obtain a Permit to Leave from the Attendance Office before  leaving.  

  • ARRIVING LATE TO SCHOOL: Please have student sign in at the attendance office before going to class. A tardy pass will be given for excused tardies only.  

If you have any questions or comments on this process, please let Ms. Dawnette Tello-Loezius know  at or (650) 558-2608. 

If the maximum number of allowable period truancies (3) or period tardies (8) is surpassed in a given 6-week grading period, students will lose the privilege of participating in any (non class/credit-related) school function (including athletic competition, dances, school plays,  etc.) for the subsequent six weeks. Additional interventions and/or consequences may also be assigned as determined by administration or the student’s advisor. It is the responsibility of the student and family to monitor the student’s attendance and attendance record during the school year. It is  recommended that students and parents check attendance at least once a week to make sure that  there are no discrepancies that need to be corrected.